§154. Districts

The judicial divisions are organized into 13 districts, as follows, with the place for holding court shown in parentheses after the name of each division:

1. First District. The first district consists of the divisions of Eastern Aroostook (Caribou) and Western Aroostook (Madawaska, Fort Kent and Van Buren). [PL 1965, c. 228, §2 (AMD).]

2. Second District. The 2nd district consists of the divisions of Central Aroostook (Presque Isle) and Southern Aroostook (Houlton).

3. Third District. The 3rd district consists of the divisions of Southern Penobscot (Bangor) and Western Penobscot (Newport).

[PL 1965, c. 237, §2 (AMD).]

4. Fourth District. The 4th district consists of the divisions of Northern Washington (Calais) and Southern Washington (Machias).

5. Fifth District. The 5th district consists of the divisions of Hancock (Ellsworth) and Waldo (Belfast).

[PL 2005, c. 397, Pt. C, §7 (AMD); PL 2005, c. 397, Pt. C, §8 (AFF).]

6. Sixth District. The 6th district consists of the divisions of Bath-Brunswick (Bath, West Bath or Brunswick), Lincoln (Wiscasset) and Knox (Rockland). [PL 1989, c. 891, Pt. A, §5 (AMD).]

7. Seventh District. The 7th district consists of the divisions of Northern Kennebec (Waterville) and Southern Kennebec (Augusta).

[PL 1965, c. 425, §3 (AMD).]

8. Eighth District. The 8th district consists of the divisions of Androscoggin (Lewiston). [PL 2003, c. 673, Pt. JJJ, §4 (AMD).]

9. Ninth District. The 9th district consists of the divisions of Southern Cumberland (Portland) and Northern Cumberland (Bridgton).

[PL 1965, c. 425, §3 (AMD).]

10. Tenth District. The 10th district consists of the division of York (Biddeford or any other court facility in the division).

[PL 2021, c. 633, §4 (AMD); PL 2021, c. 633, §5 (AFF).]

11. Eleventh District. The 11th district consists of the divisions of Northern Oxford (Rumford) and Southern Oxford (South Paris).

[PL 2003, c. 673, Pt. JJJ, §5 (AMD).]

12. Twelfth District. The 12th district consists of the divisions of Somerset (Skowhegan) and Franklin (Farmington).

[PL 1965, c. 237, §4 (AMD).]

13. Thirteenth District. The 13th district consists of the divisions of Piscataquis (Dover-Foxcroft), Northern Penobscot (Millinocket) and Central Penobscot (Lincoln).

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1965, c. 228, §2 (AMD). PL 1965, c. 237, §§2-4 (AMD). PL 1965, c. 425, §3 (AMD). PL 1983, c. 654, §§2,3 (AMD). PL 1987, c. 133, §2 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 98, §3 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 891, §A5 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 673, §§JJJ4,5 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 397, §C7 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 397, §C8 (AFF). PL 2021, c. 633, §4 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 633, §5 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.